Untitled Document
Donate Now Women's Foundation for a Greater Memphis  

One Commerce Square, 40 S. Main Street, Suite 2280
Memphis, TN 38103 • 901-578-9346

  InstagramFind us on FlickerFind us on YoutubeFollow us on TwitterFind us on Facebook  

The Women’s Foundation demonstrates formidable leadership through our presence, impact and commitment to creating a greater Memphis. The Board of Directors and Trustees is comprised of philanthropic women leaders – representing diverse sectors of the community from business to community volunteerism – who are highly engaged through their time, influence and financial support. Over 400 women annually volunteer and share their expertise to strengthen WFGM programs and special events. The Women’s Foundation’s model of leadership influences multiple generations and creates powerful advancement opportunities for women and girls throughout Memphis.

2016-2017 Board of Directors

Officers and Executive Committee

Beverly Cross, Ph.D., Co-Chair of the Board
Jennifer Oswalt, Co-Chair of the Board
TaJuan Stout Mitchell, Secretary
Eva E. Mosby, Treasurer and Finance Chair
Andrea Bienstock, Organizational Effectiveness Chair
Marcia Bowden-Marché, M.D., Education, Advocacy, and Research Chair
Gale Jones Carson, Marketing and Communications Chair
Rosemarie Fair, Grants and Program Chair
Mary H. McDaniel, Policies and Procedures Chair
Gretchen Wollert McLennon, Board Development and Nominations Chair
Sharon R. Ryan, Development Chair
Susan Stephenson, Vison 2020 Development Chair

board cropped

               *Not all board members are pictured. 

Kim Alexander

Andrea Bienstock

Toni Boland-Evans

Marcia Bowden-Marche'

Gina Brewer

Denise Carpenter

Gale Jones-Carson

Shirlee Clark-Barber

Roquita Coleman- Williams

Beverly Cross

Teresa Dickerson

Rosemarie Fair

Catherine Gammill

Lisa Geater

Karen Johnston

Mary McDaniel

Gretchen McLennon

TaJuan Mitchell

Eva Mosby

Jennifer Oswalt

Nisha Powers

Heidi Ramirez

Marilynn Robinson

Sharon Ryan

Amy Schaefer

Stephanie Simpson

Leslie Smith

Susan Stephenson

Stacie Waddell

Lynne Walker

Ann Marie Wallace

Tammy Young

Board of Trustees

Celie Althoff
Rosie Phillips Bingham, Ph.D.
Kathy Buckman Gibson
Barbara R. Hyde
Shaila Karkera
Ellen Cooper Klyce
Gayle S. Rose
Phyllis R. Scruggs
Jeanne T. Varnell
Cassandra H. Webster
Becky Jones West, Trustees Chair

Women’s Foundation Legends Award

Started in 2009, the Women’s Foundation Legends Award was created to pay tribute to innovative women whose work embodies the mission of the Women’s Foundation. WFGM has applauded sixteen legendary honorees whose vision and influence have created a better community through their passion for education, the arts, philanthropy, advocacy, social justice and civil rights.

       2017 Legends Award Honorees
       Pat Morgan, Catalyst Award | Barbara Holden Nixon, Innovation Award| Edith Kelly-Green, Philanthropy and Leadership Award 

2016 Legends Award Honorees
Honey Scheidt, Philanthropy and Leadership Award | Linn Sitler, Innovation Award | Beverly C. Robertson, Catalyst Award

2015 Legends Award Honorees
WFGM founding matriarch Mertie Willigar Buckman and the 1995 Women's Foundation for a Greater Memphis Board of Directors

2014 Legends Award Honorees
Nancy Bogatin | Dr. Erma Clanton | Frances Dancy Hooks | Mary Shainberg | Modeane Thompson

2013 Legends Award Honorees
Dr. Rosie Phillips Bingham | Kathy Buckman Gibson | Carolyn Chism Hardy | Hazel G. Moore | Dr. Barbara U. Prescott | Rachel Shankman

2012 Legends Award Honorees
Judge Bernice B. Donald | Velma Lois Jones | Sylvia Goldsmith Marks | Dorothy Gunther Pugh | Dr. Shirley C. Raines

2011 Legends Award Honorees
Barbara R. Hyde | Onie Johns | Deanie Parker | Marguerite Piazza (1926-2012) | Annie Laurie Ervin Willis (1925-2010)

2010 Legends Award Honorees
Dr. JoeAnn Ballard | Lois DeBerry (1945-2013) | Gayle S. Rose | Rebecca Webb Wilson | Jocelyn Dan Wurzburg

2009 Legends Award Honorees
Minerva Johnican (1938-2013) | Susan Sanford | Maxine A. Smith (1929-2013) | Dr. Jane Walters | Happy Jones and Jeanne Varnell

Youth Leadership Forum

The Youth Leadership Forum encourages high school girls to envision themselves as future  philanthropists and leaders and introduces them to role models from varied backgrounds.

Young Women Philanthropists (YWP)

YWP is focused on educating, empowering, and training the next generation of philanthropic women leaders through active participation in fundraising.  We are training today to fill the shoes of the more experienced philanthropists tomorrow. Learn more about YWP.

Women's Inititative Think Tank (WITT)

The Women’s Initiative Think Tank (WITT) is a collaboration of women from nearly 20 local corporate women’s initiative groups. Our mission is to identify and address issues impacting career women across the city and to promote their advancement through advocacy and education.

Young Women's Initiative

Launched in 2016, the Young Women's Initiative (YWI) is a cross-sector collaboration designed to determine the needs, best practices, and policies necessary to build the next generation of leadership and pathways to prosperity for young women and girls ages 12-22 in our community. For more information contact YWI-Memphis Coordinator Brittany Tuggle at 901-969-2402 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..  Learn more about YWI. 

Recognition and Awards

The Women's Foundation strives to constantly be a leader within the community and beyond, providing valuable partnerships and resources to accomplish our mission.

  • 2016 Kellogg Society Inductee
  • 2013 U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development Secretary's Award for Public-Philanthropic Partnerships
  • 2013 Henry Logan Starks Award-Ruby Bright
  • 2012 Elbert "Skip" Rich, Jr. Memorial Award for Civicness by the South Memphis Alliance
  • 2012 Award of Excellence presented by the National College of Business and Technology
  • 2011 International Changing the Face of Philanthropy Award presented by the Women’s Funding Network
  • Urban Strategies inaugural Stellar Leader Award presented in June, 2011 for excellence in community leadership for creating social change and paving pathways for families to succeed.
  • Minority Philanthropic Advocate of the Year - MED (Minority Enterprise Development) Week 2011
  • 2011 Memphis Magazine – Who’s Who
  • 2010 Kate Gooch Leader of the Year Award presented by Leadership Memphis
  • 2009 Memphis Urban League J. A. McDaniel Award for outstanding service to the community
  • 2009 Girls, Inc. Bold Award
  • 2008 Exploring Innovation Award presented by United Way of the Mid-South Avron B. Fogelman Venture Fund and the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, Memphis Branch
  • 2006 Memphis Housing Authority /Women’s Empowerment Evie Horton Award
  • 2006 Woman of Character Award from the Girls Scout Council of the Mid-South
  • MPACT Memphis 2006 Foundation of the Year Award
  • 2005 Shelby County Mayors’ Ruby R. Wharton Award for Community Service